Minsk to Host IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship in 2014

From May 9 to May 25, 2014, the IIHF World Hockey Championship will be held in Minsk, Belarus. The competitions will take place in the two largest sport facilities of Belarus. These are Minsk–Arena capable of housing 15,000 spectators and Chizhovka–Arena designed to house 9,600 spectators.

Minsk streets are being reconstructed and resurfaced, its buildings renovated, and new hotels built to provide comfortable conditions for championship participants and guests. The transport infrastructure is modified. An additional runaway is currently built at the Minsk National Airport and all major roads of Belarus are expanded to have four traffic lanes. New junctions of highways and motorways near the hockey arenas will be built and city electric trains will be launched before the championship.

Participants in the ice hockey championship, including hockey teams, referees, representatives of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), and journalists will be accommodated at the following hotels: Minsk, President–Hotel, Europe, Crowne Plaza, Viktoria–1, Viktoria–Olymp, Garni, Renaissance, Robinson–Club,  Narochanskaya, Svisloch, and Belarus.

Championship visitors and participants will enjoy visa–free entry to Belarus from April 25 to May 31, 2014.

2014 IIHF Ice Hockey Championship Groups

Group A (Chizhovka–Arena)

  • Sweden
  • Czech Republic
  • Canada
  • Slovakia
  • Norway
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Italy

Group B (Minsk–Arena)

  • Finland
  • Russia
  • USA
  • Switzerland
  • Germany
  • Latvia
  • Belarus
  • Kazakhstan

The schedule of the 2014 ice hockey world championship is available from the website of the Directorate of Belarus 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.To buy tickets, go to the website of the official ticket operator or contact your dealers.

  • Tatiana 24.12.2013