Belarus Allows Visa-Free Entry for 80 Countries

On January 9, Alexander Lukashenko, President of Belarus, signed a decree allowing citizens of 80 countries to enter Belarus visa–free for five days. All visitors should arrive via Minsk National Airport.

The decree applies for 39 countries in Europe, including all countries of the European Union, as well as Brazil, Indonesia, USA, Japan and other countries. These are the countries favorable in terms of migration, strategic partners of Belarus, and countries that have set a visa–free regime for Belarusian citizens. The new rules also apply for non–citizens of Latvia and stateless persons from Estonia. The full list of countries can be seen below.

Belarus Cancels Visas for 80 Countries Belarus Cancels Visas for 80 Countries


The new document is aimed for business travelers, tourists, and individuals with regular passports. It does not apply for official visitors with diplomatic, service, special, and other official passports.

To enter Belarus visa–free, foreign visitors should have a valid passport or other travel document, a money equivalent of 42 Belarusian rubles (~21USD) for each day of stay, and a medical insurance for 10,000 euros or more. The insurance must be valid in Belarus.

In addition to the requirements listed above, citizens of Vietnam, Haiti, Gambia, Honduras, India, China, Lebanon, Namibia, and Samoa must have a valid multiple entry EU member country or Schengen visa with a mark of entry, as well as plane tickets confirming departure from Minsk National Airport within five days of arrival to Belarus.

The law does not apply for visitors flying to Minsk via Russia or planning to fly to Russian airports.

The decree comes into force 30 days after its official announcement.